The Order of Nunavut

2019 Nomination Form

- The **Order of Nunavut Act** was passed by the Legislative Assembly in December of 2009 and came into force on January 1, 2010.
- The legislation provides that the objective of the Order is to "honour individuals who have provided an outstanding contribution to the cultural, social or economic well-being of Nunavut."
- Previous recipients of the Order of Nunavut have been recognized for their contributions in a number of fields, including:
 - ✓ Public and community service;
 - ✓ The arts;
 - ✓ Education;
 - ✓ Language promotion;
 - ✓ Spiritual leadership; and
 - ✓ Business and economic development.
- † The Order of Nunavut is the highest honour of Nunavut and takes precedence over all other orders, decorations or medals awarded or conferred by the Government of Nunavut. The inclusion of the Order of Nunavut into the Canadian Honours System was formalized in 2018 by way of a federal Order in Council that was approved by the Governor General.

- The Order of Nunavut Advisory Council recommends individuals for investiture into the Order. The members of the Advisory Council are the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, the Chief Justice of the Nunavut Court of Justice and the President of Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated.
- ★ A maximum of three individuals may be invested into the Order each year. Canadian citizens currently living in Nunavut are eligible for appointment to the Order, as are Canadian citizens who were formerly long-term residents of Nunavut or the area that became Nunavut on April 1, 1999.
- # Previous recipients of the Order of Nunavut are:

2011: The Reverend Michael Gardener, C.M., the late Mark Kalluak, C.M. and the late Jose Amaujaq Kusugak

2012: The late Kenojuak Ashevak, C.C. and Mr. Charlie Panigoniak

2013: Messrs. Jimmy Akavak, Louis Angalik Sr. and Davidee Arnakak

2014: Mr. John Amagoalik

2015: Messrs. Tagak Curley, C.M., William Lyall, C.M. and Father Robert Lechat, O.M.I.

2016: The late Louie Kamookak, Ms. Ellen Hamilton and Mr. Red Pedersen

2017: Ms. Betty Brewster and the late Ludy Pudluk

2018: Mr. Zacharias Kunuk, O.C.

- É Eligible persons who have been previously nominated for appointment to the Order, but who were not selected for appointment, may be re-nominated.
- The following are **not** eligible for appointment to the Order while they hold office: Members of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut; Members of Parliament; mayors and members of municipal councils; judges of any court; members of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council and the Secretary of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council.

Person being nominated:

Name:		
Address:		
		_ /
		- /\
Email: _	7 2 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 0	
Phone:		

	100		
		1	
	193	83	
		70	
)XX	<u>/-</u>	
5			
	3/(3/4	
	10000	Page 1	
	//2250	000	
//	7/ 7414	38/5(0)	
N.	1 1 1	FT L	- //
	1000	30//	
	- 1200	ULTA"/	
	1	A Pot /	

Name of Nor	ninator
(please print	
Nominator's	signature:
Address:	
Email:	
Phone: _	
ind <mark>ividual</mark> s w	de the names and contact details for two other who can attest to the nominee's eligibility and membership in the Order of Nunavut:
2.	

Nominations must be received by February 28, 2020, and must be addressed to:

Secretary of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council c/o Office of the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut P.O. Box 1200, Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0 Fax: (867) 975-5191 / Email: submissions@assembly.nu.ca