



Order of Nunavut Investiture Ceremony to be held on June 5, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 29, 2018) - Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Chairperson of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council Joe Enook today announced that Ms. Betty Brewster and Mr. Ludy Pudluk will be invested into the Order of Nunavut at a ceremony to be held on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, at 6:00pm (EST) in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly.

The investiture ceremony will be open to the public to observe in person from the Visitors' Gallery and will be televised live across Nunavut on local community cable stations and direct-to-home satellite service on the Bell (channel 513) and Shaw (channel 289 – classic / channel 489 – new lineup) networks.

On January 1, 2010, *The Order of Nunavut Act* came into force. The objective of the Order is to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cultural, social or economic well-being of Nunavut. The Order is the highest honour of Nunavut and takes precedence over all other orders, decorations or medals conferred by the Government of Nunavut.

On March 19, 2018, Speaker Enook announced the 2017 recipients of the Order.

Commissioner of Nunavut Nellie Kusugak will preside over the investiture ceremonies in her capacity as Chancellor of the Order of Nunavut.

-30-

For more information:

John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly and Secretary to the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council

Tel: (867) 975-5000