

」。

Lーしートいる
Nunavut Maligaliurvia
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

Nunavut Leadership Forum elects Speaker, Premier and Cabinet Ministers

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 17, 2021) - Nunavut's Speaker, Premier and Members of the Executive Council were chosen today by the Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all MLAs.

Tony Akoak, MLA for Gjoa Haven, was acclaimed as Speaker.

Three Members accepted nominations to serve as Premier. P.J. Akeeagok, MLA for Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu, was elected as Premier.

Sixteen Members accepted nominations to serve on the Executive Council. The following Members were elected: David Akeeagok, Pamela Hakongak Gross, David Joanasie, Lorne Kusugak, Adam Arreak Lightstone, John Main, Margaret Nakashuk and Joanna Quassa. The *Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act* provides that the Premier has the prerogative to assign Ministerial portfolios.

The swearing-in ceremony for Members of the 6th Legislative Assembly will take place at 10:00am (EST) on Friday, November 19, 2021, in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly. Formal motions to confirm the appointments of the Speaker, Premier and Cabinet will be made on the first sitting day of the 6th Legislative Assembly, which will take place on Friday, November 19, 2021, at 1:30pm (EST).

Public access to the foyer and visitors' gallery continues to be restricted as a consequence of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and state of public health emergency. The swearing-in ceremony and first sitting of the 6th Legislative Assembly will be televised on local community cable stations where available and direct-to-home satellite service on the Bell (channel 513) and Shaw (channel 289 - classic / channel 489 - new lineup) networks. Sittings are live-streamed at: http://video.isilive.ca/nunavut/. Residents of Iqaluit may also listen to the live radio broadcast of the proceedings on the following FM channels: Floor: 92.5 / Inuktitut: 94.7 / English: 102.1.

-30-

For more information: John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly LegInfo@assembly.nu.ca