

مم⊅َ لحلح⊳∿∧ Nunavut Maligaliurvia Legislative Assembly of Nunavut Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

Legislative Assembly Establishes Electoral Boundaries Commission

IQALUIT, Nunavut (October 26, 2022) - The Legislative Assembly today approved a motion to establish an Electoral Boundaries Commission.

Section 14 of the *Nunavut Elections Act* requires that an electoral boundaries commission "must be established for Nunavut every 10 years commencing in 2022". The last electoral boundaries commission was established in 2010. Its final report was tabled in the Legislative Assembly on September 28, 2011.

The Legislative Assembly has unanimously recommended the appointments of the Honourable Justice Susan Cooper and Messrs. Michael Hughson and John Maurice to serve on the Electoral Boundaries Commission. Justice Cooper will serve as the Commission's Presiding Officer.

Under the *Nunavut Elections Act*, the Electoral Boundaries Commission must submit its final report and recommendations to the Legislative Assembly within 250 days of its establishment.

"The members of the Electoral Boundaries Commission have strong records of community service and diverse professional backgrounds in the public and private sectors," said Speaker Akoak. "The Commission will be releasing further information on its work over the coming months."

Biographical notes are attached.

-30-

For more information:

For more information: John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly LegInfo@assembly.nu.ca

The Honourable Madam Justice Susan Cooper

Madam Justice Cooper was appointed a Judge of the Nunavut Court of Justice in December 2009. She received a Bachelor of Science degree in 1983 and a Bachelor of Laws degree in 1987 from the University of Alberta. She was called to the Northwest Territories Bar in 1988, the Alberta Bar in 1990 and the Nunavut Bar in 1999. Madam Justice Cooper was an associate at the law firm of Cooper Johnson in Yellowknife from 1988 to 1992. She practiced as a sole practitioner in Yellowknife from 1992 to 1993 and in Iqaluit from 1993 to 1998. She was a partner at Chandler and Cooper from 1998 to the date of her judicial appointment. From 1999 to the appointment, she was the first Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel to the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. Her main practice areas included Parliamentary, criminal, family, civil, child protection, municipal, administrative and employment law. Madam Justice Cooper is a past member of the Canadian Council of Criminal Defence Lawyers, the Federation of Law Societies and the Canadian Council of Administrative Tribunals. She previously served as Vice-Chair of the Nunavut Human Rights Tribunal and the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission Appeals Tribunal.

Michael Hughson

Michael Hughson is a long-term resident of Baker Lake and former manager in the Department of Community and Government Services. Mr. Hughson's private sector experience includes senior positions with the North West Company and the Nunamiut Company. Mr. Hughson is a former member of the Assessment Appeal Tribunal. Mr. Hughson's volunteer and community activities include roles with the Abluqta Society and a number of committees established by the Municipality of Baker Lake.

John Maurice

John Maurice is a long-term resident of Iqaluit and former teacher. Mr. Maurice has served as a Justice of the Peace, Chief Returning Officer for Elections Canada and Assistant Returning Officer for Elections Nunavut. Mr. Maurice has served on a number of boards and other bodies, including the Nunavut Teachers' Association, the Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal, the Labour Standards Board, the Income Assistance Appeal Committee, the Iqaluit Housing Authority, the Territorial Board of Revision and the Liquor Licensing Board. Mr. Maurice's volunteer and community activities include roles with the Kamatsiaqtut Nunavut Help Line, the City of Iqaluit's Toonik Tyme and Speed Skating Canada.