MLA for Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu resigns from the Legislative Assembly

Aug 17 2021 3:46 pm

IQALUIT, Nunavut (August 17, 2021) - Pat Angnakak, Member of the Legislative Assembly for Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu, today announced her decision to resign her seat as a Member of the Legislative Assembly, effective immediately.

Ms. Angnakak said, “It has been a tremendous honour serving as the Member for Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu. After much reflection and consultation with family and constituents, I have decided to seek the confidence of Nunavummiut to represent them as their next Member of Parliament.”

The 5th Legislative Assembly will be dissolved on September 19, 2021. The 6th territorial general election will be held on October 25, 2021. Consequently, there is no requirement for a by-election to be held.


For more information:

John Quirke
Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
Tel: (867) 975-5100

MLA for Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu resigns from the Legislative Assembly124.65 KB